IRN is now responsible for passports and residence permit renewals


With the extinction of the Foreigners and Borders Service (SEF) on 29 October, the Institute of Registries and Notaries (IRN) will now be responsible for granting and issuing the Portuguese Electronic Passport (PEP).

In addition to the PEP, the IRN will also be responsible for temporary passports, special passports and passports for foreign nationals.

IRN will also now be responsible for applications to renew residence permits. Initially, this service will only be available by prior appointment. 

Applications for residence permits can be made on the SIGA platform or on the SigaApp mobile application for Android, iOS or Huawei. Simply choose the "Registration" option, the "Citizen" theme and the "Residence Permit" sub-theme, choosing "Renewal of Residence Permit" as the reason. Finally, you must choose the day, time and one of the 34 IRN service counters where you want to go. 


The 34 branches available are:


1. Civil Identification Department of the Lisbon Justice Campus 

2. Boa Hora Civil Identification Department (Chiado) - Lisbon 

3. Amora/Seixal Citizen's Bureau 

4. Aveiro Citizen's Bureau 

5. Braga Citizens' Bureau 

6. Castelo Branco Citizens' Bureau 

7. Coimbra Citizens' Bureau 

8. Faro Citizens' Bureau 

9. Guarda Citizens' Bureau 

10. Laranjeiras Citizens' Bureau - Lisbon 

11. Leiria Citizens' Bureau 

12. Marvila Citizens' Bureau - Lisbon 

13. Odivelas Citizens' Bureau 

14. Oporto Citizens' Bureau 

15. Saldanha Citizens' Bureau - Lisbon 

16. Tavira Citizens' Bureau 

17. Vila Real Citizens' Bureau 

18. Viseu Citizens' Bureau 

19. Beja Registration Centres 

20. Bragança Registration Centre 

21. Évora Registration Centre 

22. Loulé Registration Centre

23. Marinha Grande Registration Centre 

24. Pombal Registration Centre 

25. Portalegre Registration Centre 

26. Póvoa de Varzim Registration Area 

27. Santarém Registration Centre 

28. Setúbal Registration Centre 

29. Cascais Civil Registry 

30. Espinho Civil Registry 

31. Civil, Land and Commercial Registry of Horta 

32. Civil Registry of Ponta Delgada 

33. Portimão Civil Registry 

34. Civil Registry of Viana do Castelo

Source: Portal do Governo